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 Goodhue County 
Finance & Taxpayer Services 

509 W 5th St 
Red Wing, MN 55066 

(651) 385-3040 
  

Application for Auctioneer License 
Pursuant to  Minnesota Statues Chapter 330 

Resident □    Non-Resident □ 
 
To the Goodhue County Auditor of the State of Minnesota:  
 
The undersigned hereby applies for a license to conduct the business of an auctioneer in the State 
of Minnesota for the period of one year and in support of issuance of the license the Applicant 
states the following to be true:  
 
1. That the applicant’s date of birth is ________________________ and is 18 years of age 
or over; and  
2. That the applicant is now and has been a resident of _________________ County for the 
State of ______________________ at least six months immediately preceding the date of 
application; and  
3. That the applicant has paid the required fee of $20.00  
 
Dated this _______ day of ______________, 20____ 
 
___________________________________    __________________________________ 
Signature of Applicant      Print: Full Name  
 
________________________________________________________________  
Address    
 
__________________________________________________ 
City     State    Zip  
 
MAIL IN APPLICATION – NOTARY MUST COMPLETE 
. 
Dated: 
 
 
   

 
 
 
 
 
 

OFFICE USE ONLY 
 
 
 

Lic #25-______  Exp Date: 

________ 

D/L State: _________ 

 

 

Wherefore, applicant requests that an Auctioneer License be issued to the 
undersigned in conformity with the laws, which this license is granted. 
 
____________________________________ _______________________ 
                         Applicant                                           Date 
 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this_______ day of ______________, 
20_____. 
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Minnesota Statutes pertaining to Auctioneers 

Chapter 330 
See section 330.11 for Reciprocity Information 

 
 
330.01 AUCTIONEERS' LICENSES, TO WHOM GRANTED.  
Subdivision 1. Generally. (a) The county auditor may license any person having the qualifications 
specified in clause (b) of this subdivision as an auctioneer. The license shall be issued by the auditor and 
shall authorize the licensee to conduct the business of an auctioneer in the state of Minnesota for the 
period of one year. It shall be recorded by the auditor in a book kept for that purpose. The license must 
specify the county issuing the license and must contain a number that individually identifies the 
auctioneer holding the license. Before the license is issued the applicant shall pay into the county 
treasury a fee of $20. (b) A natural person is qualified to be licensed as an auctioneer if 18 years of age 
or over and a resident of the county of application for at least six months immediately preceding the date 
of application. No copartnership, association or corporation may be licensed as an auctioneer. However, 
nothing in this subdivision shall be construed as preventing auctioneers who are duly licensed in 
accordance with the provisions of this chapter, from combining in associations, copartnerships, or 
corporations, provided that each and every member of these associations or copartnerships and each 
and every person or agent conducting auction sales on behalf of these corporations is a duly licensed 
auctioneer as provided in this chapter. Nothing herein shall be construed to apply to the owner of property 
for at least six months selling it at an auction. Subd. 2.[Repealed, 1965 c 874 s 10]  
 
330.02 BOND. Every auctioneer, before making sales, shall give a corporate surety bond to the county in 
a penal sum of not less than $1,000 nor more than $3,000 to be fixed by the treasurer and with sureties 
approved by the treasurer, conditioned that the auctioneer will pay all sums required by law and in all 
things conform to the laws relating to auctioneers. The treasurer, for approval, shall endorse the bond, 
and file it in the treasurer's office.  
 
330.025 CITY OR TOWN LICENSES. Notwithstanding sections 412.221, subdivision 19, and 368.01, 
subdivision 11, or other law or provision of home rule charter to the contrary, a statutory or home rule 
charter city or town may not require a person licensed as an auctioneer by a county and bonded under 
this chapter to obtain an additional license or give an additional bond in order to act as an auctioneer in 
the city or town. A statutory or home rule charter city or town may require an auctioneer who intends to 
conduct an auction in the city or town to submit proof of licensure and compliance with the bond 
requirements of this chapter at least 14 days before the date of the auction. 
 
330.03 ACCOUNT OF SALES. Every auctioneer shall keep an accurate account of all property sold, the 
names of the persons from whom the same was received and of those to whom it was sold, and the price.  
 
330.04 FORFEITURE FOR RECEIVING GOODS FROM MINORS OR SERVANTS. Any licensed 
auctioneer who shall receive property for sale from any minor or servant, knowing the person to be a 
minor or servant, shall forfeit to any person injured a sum not exceeding $200.  
 
330.05 SALES IN UNAUTHORIZED PLACES; PENALTY. Any person occupying or having control of 
any building, who knowingly permits the sale of property at public auction in such building, or in any 
apartment or yard appertaining thereto, contrary to the provisions of this chapter, shall be guilty of a 
misdemeanor.  
 
330.06 UNLICENSED SALES. Any person who shall sell or attempt to sell, either directly or indirectly, or 
as the agent of a duly licensed auctioneer, any property at auction without being licensed as an 
auctioneer, as herein provided, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor; but the provisions of this chapter shall 
not extend to sales made by sheriffs, coroners, collectors of taxes or sales of personal property under 
chattel mortgage or other lien.  
 
330.08 ADVERTISEMENTS. All advertisements of auction sales shall carry the name or names, address 
or addresses, and the license number or numbers of the auctioneer or auctioneers conducting said sales.  
 
330.09 NOTIFICATION OF CHANGE OF ADDRESS. Notice in writing shall be given to the auditor of the 
county where licensed by each licensee of any change of address, whereupon the auditor shall issue a 
duplicate license showing the licensee's new address for which a fee of $3 shall be paid into the county 
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treasury. A change of address, without notification to the auditor, shall result in the automatic cancellation 
of any license theretofore issued after the expiration of 30 days from the date of such change of address.  
 
 
 
330.10 WRITTEN CONTRACT WITH OWNER OR CONSIGNEE OF PROPERTY OR MERCHANDISE 
FROM TRANSIENT MERCHANTS.  
Subdivision 1. Written contract. Prior to sale at public auction every auctioneer shall enter into a written 
contract with the owner or consignee of any property to be sold, containing the terms and conditions upon 
which the sale will be conducted.  
Subd. 2. Property from transient merchant. Prior to sale at public auction of any property received or 
acquired, directly or indirectly, from a transient merchant as defined in section 329.099, the auctioneer 
shall require proof that section 329.11 has been complied with by the transient merchant with respect to 
such property; and the auctioneer shall retain such proof for one year.  

 
Reciprocity Information 

 
330.11 APPLICATION BY NONRESIDENT.  
Subdivision 1. Reciprocity. A resident of another state which issues auctioneers' licenses to citizens of the state of 
Minnesota on the same or similar basis as to citizens of such state may be licensed as an auctioneer in the state of 
Minnesota upon compliance with the laws of the state of Minnesota relating to auctioneers' licenses. Eligibility of a 
nonresident applicant shall be tested by reference to the law of the resident state, and in no case shall it be tested by 
reference to the law of some other state having reciprocity with the state of Minnesota in which the nonresident may 
qualify.  
Subd. 2. License and other state's laws. A nonresident applicant must submit to the county auditor with the 
application a duly certified copy of the applicant's auctioneer's license, if one was issued by the resident state, and a 
copy of the state auction laws such as exist in the resident state, certified by the secretary of state or other authorized 
state official of such state, that the submitted copy is a true copy of the auction laws of such state, as they exist at the 
date of application, in order that the attorney general of the state of Minnesota may determine whether reciprocity 
exists. If, subsequent to the issuance of a nonresident license, the laws of the state of such nonresident shall not be 
reciprocal with the state of Minnesota, it shall result in the automatic revocation of the nonresident auctioneer's 
license issued to any resident of such state under the provisions of this chapter.  
Subd. 3. Consent to suits and actions. Every nonresident applicant shall file an irrevocable consent that suits and 
actions may be commenced against such applicant in any court of competent jurisdiction in this state by the service 
on the secretary of state of any summons, process, or pleadings authorized by the laws of the state of Minnesota. 
This consent shall stipulate that the service of such process or pleadings on the secretary of state shall be taken and 
held in all courts to be as valid and binding as if due service had been made upon the applicant in the state of 
Minnesota. In case any summons, process, or pleadings are served upon the secretary of state, it shall be according 
to section 5.25.  
 
330.12 PENALTIES. Any person who violates the provisions of this chapter is guilty of a misdemeanor.  
 
330.13 EXCEPTIONS. The provisions of this chapter shall not apply to auction sales of registered or purebred 
livestock or auction sales conducted under the auspices of the Future Farmers of America, 4-H clubs, county 
agricultural societies, national, state or district shows and breed associations, except that the auctioneer conducting 
such auction shall be required to have a license as provided in this chapter. 



Form SP: C1  LICENSE APPLICANT INFORMATION 
 
Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 270C.72, the agency issuing you this license is required to 
provide to the Minnesota Commissioner of Revenue your Minnesota business tax 
identification number and the Social Security number of each license applicant. 
 
Under the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act and the Federal Privacy Act of 
1974, we must advise you that: 
 
This information may be used to deny the issuance, renewal or transfer of your license if 
you owe the Minnesota Department of Revenue Delinquent taxes, penalties or interest: 
and 
 
The licensing agency will supply it only to the Minnesota Department of Revenue. 
However, under the Federal Exchange of Information Act, the Department of Revenue is 
allowed to supply this information to the Internal Revenue service; and 
 
Failure to supply this information may jeopardize or delay the issuance of you licensing 
or processing your renewal application. 
 
Please fill in the following information and return this form along with your application 
to the agency issuing the license. Do not return this form to the Department of 
Revenue. 
 
Licensing Authority: Goodhue County 
 
License Information 
 
Name of license being applied for: ___________________________________________ 
License renewal date:  ____________________________ 
 
Personal Information 
 
Applicant’s Name (Last, first, middle initial): ___________________________________ 
Applicant’s Address (city, state, zip): _________________________________________ 
Social Security Number: ___________________________ 
 
Business Information 
 
Business Name: __________________________________________________________ 
Business Address (city, state, zip): ___________________________________________ 
Minnesota Tax Identification Number: ________________________________________ 

□ I do not conduct any business as a business entity and therefore do not have a 
Minnesota business identification number. 
Additional explanation, if necessary: __________________________________________ 
________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
Signature: ________________________________ Date: _________________________ 



- CERTIFICATION OF COMPLIANCE - 
MINNESOTA WORKERS� COMPENSATION LAW 

Minnesota Statute, Section 176.182 requires every state and local licensing agency to withhold the issuance 
or renewal of a license or permit to operate a business or engage in an activity in Minnesota until the 
applicant presents acceptable evidence of compliance with the workers� compensation insurance coverage 
requirement of MSS Chapter 176. The information required is: the name of the insurance company, the policy 
number, and dates of coverage or the permit to self-insure. This information will be collected by the licensing 
agency and retained in their files. 
 
This information is required by law, and licenses and permits to operate a business may not be issued or 
renewed if it is not provided and/or is falsely reported. Furthermore, if this information is not provided or 
falsely stated, it may result in a $1,000 penalty assessed against the applicant by the Commissioner of the 
Department of Labor and Industry. 
 
Insurance Company Name:  
(NOT the insurance agent) 

Policy Number:  
 
Dates of Coverage:   to  
 

(or) 
I am not required to have workers� compensation liability coverage because: 
 
(   ) I have no employees 
 
(   ) I am self insured (include permit to self-insure) 
 
(   ) I have no employees who are covered by the workers� compensation law  

(these include: Spouse, Parents, Children and certain farm employees) 
 
I certify that the information provided above is accurate and complete and that a valid workers� compensation policy 
will be kept in effect at all times as required by law. 
 
Name:  
 
Doing Business As:  
 Business name if different than your name 

Business Address:  
 
City, State, Zip:  
 
Telephone:  
 Including area code 

Signature:  
 
Date:  



IRREVOCABLE CONSENT FORM 
 

CONSENT 
 

_________________________________ hereby irrevocably consents that suits and 
actions may be commenced against him/her in any court of competent jurisdiction in the 
State of Minnesota by the service on the Secretary of the State of Minnesota of any 
Summons, Process, or Pleadings authorized by the State of Minnesota. 
 
The service of such process or pleadings on the Secretary of State shall be taken and held 
in all courts to be as valid and binding as if due service had been made upon the applicant 
in the State of Minnesota 
 
 
     __________________________________________ 
     Signature 
 
STATE OF MINNESOTA 
COUNTY OF GOODHUE 
 
On this _________ day of ___________________, _____________, personally appeared 
before me ________________________________, to me known to be the person who 
executed the foregoing Consent and acknowledged that he/she executed the same as 
his/her free act and deed. 
 
 
 
     __________________________________________ 
     Notary Public 
 
     NOTARY SEAL 
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