

I'd like to start a child care business in my home, but I understand I need a license.

Why is it important to license child care?

Parents who use child care entrust their children to a care provider for many hours each day. Licensing child care providers helps protect the health and safety of children by requiring that certain minimum standards of care are met.

What do I need to do to get a license?

In Minnesota, family and group family child care must meet certain standards for caregiver qualifications, physical environment, number of children per caregiver, behavior guidance, required policies and records, activities and equipment. This brochure explains in general, what you need to do to obtain a family child care license. It does not include all specific requirements. Please refer to Minnesota Rules, parts 9502.0300 to 9502.0445 (commonly called Rule 2) and Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 245A, for a complete description. These can be found in the reference section of your local library or by visiting the Web site for the Office of the Revisor of Statutes at www.revisor.mn.gov/pubs/

What is meant by "family child care" and "group family child care"?

Family child care is for 10 children or fewer at one time; no more than 6 may be younger than school age.

Group family child care is for up to 14 children at any one time.

The total number of children for both licenses includes the children of any caregiver when the children are present in the residence.

What qualifications are needed to be a caregiver?

A family child care or group family child care provider must be:

- An adult
- Physically able to care for children.

Providers and all adult caregivers who are assisting with care on a regular basis must have had a physical exam within 12 months before obtaining their initial license.

In addition, group family child care providers must meet **one** of the following experience or educational qualifications:

- 1. A minimum of one year as a family child care provider
- 2. A minimum of six months as a licensed family child care provider plus certain training and experience described in Minnesota rules
- 3. Certification or licensure in the specified child development or early childhood program, child development assistant program, current prekindergarten license, K-6 teaching degree or documentation of six months' experience as a full-time teacher at a licensed child care center.

Training

Initial training: Before caring for children, applicants must first complete Child Growth & Development/Behavior Guidance training, Supervising for Safety training, and first aid and CPR training. Applicants and caregivers who will care for infants must complete training on reducing the risk of Sudden Unexpected Infant Death (SUID) and those who will care for children under school age must complete training on reducing the risk of Abusive Head Trauma (AHT). Applicants who will transport children must complete Child Passenger Restraint Training.

Ongoing training: Each year, providers and adult caregivers must complete 16 hours of inservice training which must include Child Growth & Development/Behavior Guidance training and Supervising for Safety training. Providers and adult caregivers are required to complete a class in reducing the risk of SUID and AHT every two years and view a video presentation on the year not completing the class. The remaining 16 hours of required training may be selected from seven different core competency areas. Providers and adult caregivers must repeat first aid and CPR training at least once every two years, and child passenger restraint training every five years for those persons transporting children. In addition, each caregiver, substitute caregiver, and helper is required to complete training to reduce the risk of SUID and AHT prior to caring for infants and children under school age. Helpers who assist with care on a regular basis must complete six hours of training within one year of initial employment.

Behavior guidance

Caregivers must give each child guidance that helps the child acquire a positive self-image, self-control, and teaches acceptable behavior. Corporal punishment is prohibited. A time-limited separation of a child from a group must be appropriate to the age of the child and the circumstances.

Evaluations

To protect the health and safety of children, the county licensing agency may, based on reasonable cause, require a physical, mental health, or chemical dependency or abuse evaluation of any caregiver or person who lives in the residence or who is present during the hours of care.



What are the rules regarding space and the condition of my home?

Family child care may be provided in the license holder's own residence or someone else's residence where the provider is the primary caregiver.

Indoor space:

A minimum of 35 square feet of usable indoor space is required for each child.

Outdoor play space:

There must be an outdoor play space of at least 50 square feet per child, adjacent to the residence for regular use, or a park or playground within 1,500 feet of the residence.

Health and safety codes:

The child care residence must meet additional physical environment and health and sanitation standards. For example, a fire code inspection may be required under certain circumstances. In addition, if the county licensing agency believes a hazardous condition may exist, a fire, building or health inspection may be required.

What about activities and equipment?

Activities must provide for the physical, intellectual, emotional and social development of the children. Providers must have enough appropriate equipment for the number and ages of children in care.

How many children may I care for at any one time?

It depends on the ages of the children and how many other caregivers are in the home. Several classes of licenses are issued based on these factors. For example, for a C3 license, the provider must maintain a child to adult ratio of 14 to 2 and is limited to 10 total children under school age. Of those, no more than four may be infants and toddlers and of this number, no more than three may be infants. Other license classes allow different ratios and combinations of school-age children, infants and toddlers. For a more thorough explanation of ratios and age restrictions, consult Rule 2 or your county licensing office.

What kinds of paperwork or records am I required to maintain?

Written policies, procedures

You must have the following written information available for the parents of children in care and for the county licensing agency:

- Ages and numbers of children in care
- Hours and days of operation
- Meals and snacks to be served
- Labeling requirements for food brought from the child's home
- Sleeping and rest arrangements
- Nondiscrimination practices
- Policies for the care of ill children, disease notification, immunizations and medication permission policies
- Emergency, fire and storm plans and monthly fire drills
- Seat belt and transportation plans, field trip and transportation permission requirements
- Fees
- Termination and notice procedures
- Grievance policy
- · Alcohol and drug policy for caregivers
- Helper and substitute plans
- Pets in the residence
- Insurance coverage
- A copy of Rule 2
- Disclosure to parents if smoking is permitted in the home outside child care hours.

Records

Before admitting a child, you must obtain from the parents the following information:

- Admission and arrangements form
- Special instructions in writing about toilet training, eating, sleeping, napping, allergies and any health problems
- Immunization records
- Signed written consent to obtain emergency medical care
- Written permission to transport children
- Signed authorization to release the child from care to person(s) authorized by the parent.

How do I apply for a license? What is involved in the application process?

Request an application from your local county licensing agency.

You may be asked to attend an orientation meeting to receive the application, review the licensing standards and learn about the licensing process. Submit a completed license application to the county licensing agency.

The applicant must be the person who will be the provider of care in the residence, present during hours of operation, and who will be legally responsible for the operation of the business. In addition, an employer, church, community collaborative, or not-for-profit agency may apply for a family child care license. The applicant must provide required licensing and background study information.

The local social services agency can help with the application process. When the agency has received a complete application, a county licensor will schedule an on-site licensing inspection of the residence.

Fire and building codes

Fire inspections may be required for new applicants for family child care and group family child care residences, under certain conditions, such as homes that use the basement for child care, have a capacity of more than 10, or are located in mixed or multiple occupancy dwellings. The residence must meet local ordinances.

Background studies

At the time of application, the applicant, all caregivers and specified household members must have a background study conducted by the agency. Other individuals may be required to have a background study when there is reasonable cause. This study reviews the person's criminal record and checks for any record of maltreatment.

Once the application process is completed, the county agency forwards a recommendation to the Minnesota Department of Human Services.

Who can I contact for more information?

Contact your local county social services agency to request an application and information about the licensing process. You may also contact the Minnesota Department of Human Services, Division of Licensing, at 651-431-6500 for general information.

Attention. If you need free help interpreting this document, ask your worker or call the number below for your language.

. 357-358-0377 مقرلا على على الصاد وأكفرشم نم كالذباطا ، وقي شول المذه ومجرت ويناجم ودعاسم تدرأ اذإ فطحالم

កំណត់សំគាល់ ។ បើអ្នកត្រូវការជំនួយក្នុងការបកប្រែឯកសារនេះដោយឥតគិតថ្លៃ សូមសួរអ្នកកាន់សំណុំរឿង របស់អ្នក ឬហៅទូរស័ព្ទមកលខេ 1-888-468-3787 ។

Pažnja. Ako vam treba besplatna pomoć za tumačenje ovog dokumenta, pitajte vašeg radnika ili nazovite 1-888-234-3785.

Thoy ua twb zoo nyeem. Yog hais tias koj xav tau kev pab txhais lus rau tsab ntaub ntawv no pub dawb, ces nug koj tus neeg lis dej num los sis hu rau 1-888-486-8377.

ໂປຣດຊາບ. ຖ້າຫາກ ທ່ານຕ້ອງການການຊ່ວຍເຫຼືອໃນການແປເອກະສານນີ້ຟຣີ, ຈື່ງຖາມພະນັກງານກຳກັບການຊ່ວຍເຫຼືອ ຂອງທ່ານ ຫຼື ໂທຣໄປທີ່ 1-888-487-8251.

Hubachiisa. Dokumentiin kun bilisa akka siif hiikamu gargaarsa hoo feete, hojjettoota kee gaafadhu ykn afaan ati dubbattuuf bilbilli 1-888-234-3798.

Внимание: если вам нужна бесплатная помощь в устном переводе данного документа, обратитесь к своему социальному работнику или позвоните по телефону 1-888-562-5877.

Digniin. Haddii aad u baahantahay caawimaad lacag-la'aan ah ee tarjumaadda qoraalkan, hawlwadeenkaaga weydiiso ama wac lambarka 1-888-547-8829.

Atención. Si desea recibir asistencia gratuita para interpretar este documento, comuníquese con su trabajador o llame al 1-888-428-3438.

Chú ý. Nếu quý vị cần được giúp đỡ dịch tài liệu này miễn phí, xin gọi nhân viên xã hội của quý vị hoặc gọi số 1-888-554-8759.

ADA2 (12-12

This information is available in accessible formats for individuals with disabilities by calling 651-431-6500 or by using your preferred relay service. For other information on disability rights and protections, contact the agency's ADA coordinator.