Marriage Officiant Credentials

Learn about requirements to perform a marriage in Minnesota.

Marriages in Minnesota

To perform a marriage in Minnesota, you must register with a Minnesota county prior to the ceremony. No credentials are required to register with the county. (M.S. 517.04)  

Ministers of any religious denomination, before they are authorized to solemnize a marriage, shall file a copy of their credential or license or ordination or, if their religious denomination does not issue credentials, authority from the minister's spiritual assembly, with the local registrar of a county in this state. (M.S. 517.05)

Filing Requirements

  1. Completed Certificate of Filing. This can be done in person or it can be sent by mail.
  2. Copy of your credentials or ordination per MN Statute 517.05 if applicable.
  3. $20 filing fee
  4. Officiant must be 21 years of age or older.

Recorder

Birth Certificates Death Certificates Marriage Licenses Marriage Officiant Credentials Land Notification Alerts Document Recording Checklist LandShark MN Department of Commerce Minnesota Association of County Officers Notary Public Online Payments Plats & Maps FAQ Department Home
Goodhue County Government Center
509 W. 5th St.
Red Wing, MN 55066
Building Map
All content ©2024 Goodhue County, MN. | Copyright Notices | Accessibility